Come “Meet the Jurist” at the 12 Annual ESIL Conference in Riga

The Organizing Committee of the 12th Annual ESIL Conference is pleased to announce the mentoring event “Meet the Jurist,” which will take place over lunch, 13:00 to 14:30, on Thursday, 8 September.

Organized for the first time at the 2015 ESIL Conference in Oslo, this is a new initiative of the ESIL Board. 

“Meet the Jurist” in Riga will entail a focused exchange between junior and more senior members of the ESIL community. Professionals and academics at an early stage in their careers will have the opportunity to register to take part in the event, and speak with one of 25 judges, senior academics, and other accomplished legal professionals who will be on hand as mentors.

The aim of this event is to facilitate the flow of ideas and experience between individuals at different stages of their lives and careers in international law. Participants will speak one-on-one, for periods of ten minutes, on any topic or several topics of interest. Our expectation is that this type of free exchange will present an opportunity for both participants to come away with beneficial new insights and perspectives.

Time and space are limited, and places will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis, so make sure to secure your place soon by emailing us at: Registration closes on 31 July.

We hope to build on the success of last year’s mentoring event, and expect that Riga will establish the “Meet the Jurist” as a fixture at future ESIL conferences.

Learn more about the mentors: here

Please note, that you can choose the Jurist from the list below and name in your application:



Jessica Almqvist

Eyal Benvenisti

Armin von Bogdandy

Nicola Bonucci

Enzo Cannizzaro

James Crawford

Alice Edwards

Mary Footer

Danute Jociene

Barbara Koremenos

Claus Kress

Artem Malgin

Lauri Malksoo

Enrico Milano

Iulia Motoc

Boldizsár Nagy

Martins Paparinskis

Anne Peters

Ignacio de la Rasilla del Moral

Steven Ratner

Catherine Redgwell

Marco Sassoli

Margot Salomon

Nicholas Tsagourias

Maria Varaki

Michael Waibel

Philippa Webb